Globalization has led to the proliferation of multinational corporations, often at the expense of local businesses. Discuss the positive and negative impacts of this trend.

It is believed that transnational companies have grown under the reign of global integration and this increase has become a costly affair for local firms. Although such expansion has some positive impacts like job creation and highest salaries, it has adverse effects in terms of loss for local businesses and their survival. To begin with, there are numerous pros of an upsurge in international firms due to internationalism. Foremost, multinational companies bring along an opportunity to create employment by recruiting local people to fill the vacancies in their newly established branches in a particular nation. For example, Amazon, a worldwide e-commerce unit, gave 1 million jobs when they started their new outlets in Asia-Pacific countries like India, Sri Lanka et cetera. Hence, it can be beneficial for the citizens of third-world countries to get their dream jobs in MNCs. In addition, because big firms have subsequent funds to run their business, they not only offer a good wage rate to their employees but they also provide incentives and promotions. On the contrary, local businesses have to bear the dire consequences of this phenomenon. Primarily, local units have to face economic losses due to globalized companies since they do not have enough capacity to compete with them both financially and technologically. For instance, as per a meticulous survey of the Guardian Newspaper in March 2022 revealed that regional manufacturers had been struggling with their daily expenses since the international companies captured their customers. Thus, big firms provide discounted products by using cost-effective technology, which is a threat to the existence of local units. Moreover, where MNCs deal with multiple products and big malls, local firms with a single local product may face identity loss issues. To conclude, it is unequivocal that globalization is the leading cause of the bloom of international businesses at the cost of regional firms and this trend has both merits and demerits as a whole.