Some people think that the news media nowadays have influenced people's lives in negative ways. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The advent of new technology has brought a great many opportunities to spread news not only locally but also globally. Despite the fact that many people consider that the press media has an adverse impact on individuals' lives, I hardly support this notion as it provides safety and wellbeing of people. To begin with, nobody can deny that the news sources play an important role for providing security of mankind. Spreading news about criminals such as robbery, murder or kidnapping, the mass media raises the cautiousness of society. Furthermore, having informed natural calamities like earthquake, storm, flooding, tsunami or others, people start to seek for preventive measures, This is proven by statistics that showed a larger percentage of people's lives and properties were saved due to the Weather forecasts. Thus, the media news have contribution for safety of humankind. Moreover, another essential contribution of the daily news is promoting welfare of the public. Because it is hard to accept that ordinary citizens are likely to meet official authorities such as president, political leaders or others, the news channels and newspapers are the main tools for delivering messages about citizen's complains or difficulties to appropriate authorities. For example, in my home country many ordinary are receiving supports from the government as a result of social networking bloggers' actions. Therefore, the media is one of the stimulator factor for improvement of people's quality of life. In conclusion, I reiterate the importance of the news media for society in terms of security and promotion of wellbeing.