Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the current scenario of extensive industrialisation, there is drastic increment in the working hours of labourers in the workplace. To overcome this problem, some nations have passed laws to curtail working hours for workers in a business establishment. This essay will discuss some reasons for implementation of these laws and show that these rules are moving the world of enterprise in a positive direction. Firstly, one of the reasons for the introduction of limited hours for employees is to reduce stress of long hours, which resulted in fatigue, early retirements and extensive retraining of new employees in the past. For example, in countries where hours of work are haphazard, the workforce is underpaid, poverty is widespread and companies have unhealthy environments. In addition, nations have also learnt that an increase in free time for employees was expected to give them more time with their families which was not the case earlier. Hence, we can see that these are very good reasons for a reduction and setting a limit on the number of hours that a person should work. Consequently, those who implemented these laws have experienced incredible benefits from them, both societally and economically. For example, countries like the USA or France or Japan where these laws are sacrosanct, have shown significant economic growth and development.