Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

There is a controversial statement heating a debate over the ancient buildings. While some believe that they should be preserved because of their redeeming features of the nation’s history, others claim that they ought to be demolished to make way for new houses and offices. While the latter has some valid reasons, I would contend that the former would bring about more positive impacts. Obviously, protecting old buildings plays such a paramount significant role in the nation’s history because they could build a stronger sense of historical and personal identity. By dropping in those places, visitors, especially young generations, can gain a deeper understanding of their country and the harsh journey that their forefathers have gone through to build the nation. Moreover, by observing the historical sites that witnessed historical events, people will have a more rounded and vivid view about the past. The Temple of and the Imperial Citadel of Thang Long can be cited as a compelling example. Not only do they arouse the national pride and patriotism of Vietnamese but they also draw an appeal to a wide range of foreign tourists. Regarding history, it should totally stand in the way of progress while the government needs to take some action to find out the solution of accommodation and workplaces. To meet the ever-increasing demand of housing and offices, in lieu of pulling down old buildings, the government can make use of dilapidated or tatty houses by renovating them with top-notch technologies and advanced facilities. Moreover, these historical buildings standing along with the new skyscrapers showcase a unique view of the city. In other words, the combination of old and modern structures could make the city more intriguing and attractive. In conclusion, maintaining historical buildings is an essential thing because they have become the witness of some important events. And it is a fact that the combination of old and modern buildings brings a wealth of benefits to the city and the country as well.