Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some people that children should be responsible for their offences. However, others believe that the parents of these children should be punished. I tend to be in favour of the latter opinion and in this essay I will explore both views and explain my point of view. It is obvious that everybody should be accountable for their own behaviour and should be penalized in case of their wrongdoing. However, we could be in a dilemma when crimes are made by children. On the one hand, if children commit crimes they should be punished because it is likely to prevent them from the next offences. On the contrary, if children avoid penalties, they would not be able to realize the full severeness of this issue and its consequences. Undoubtedly, the main purpose of punishment is to demonstrate that you will be punished in case of your perpetration. While exemption from punishment would lead to children repeating crimes. On the other hand, children are not adults, and perhaps they do not understand the full seriousness of wrong behaviour. I'm sure that parents are completely responsible for their children in terms of their upbringing as well as their behaviour. For example, when a child steals a cellphone from his classmate, it is likely the parents of this child failed to explain to them that theft is extremelly wrong behaviour and this would lead them to prison. Moreover, when parents get out of touch with their children, or even worse, set an example of wrong behaviour, it is clear that they should have carry full responsibility for themselves and for their children. In conclusion, while children should realize all repercussions of their offences, nonetheless, the ultimate responsibility for kids' wrongdoing lies with their parents, which were not able to teach their children the right behaviour and to prevent crimes committed by them.