Surveys show that people are living longer in many countries, which has many implications for aging individuals and for society as a whole. What are the possible negative effects of longer living for individuals and society? What could be done to mitigate them?

According to surveys, the lifespan of people from countries having a variety of implications for their citizens has been prolonged. Even though longer living can have several negative impacts on individuals and communities, measures to lighten the consequences are still applicable. Firstly, for individuals, living longer increases the risk of catching infectious diseases due to immune deficiency. In developing countries, senior citizens without the ability to work also might struggle to afford the basic living standards by themselves. Therefore, elders become more dependent on not only the medical system but also their acquaintances. Moreover, the mental health of the olds could suffer from loneliness. In terms of society, the government might increase tax rates of the labour force to compensate for the rising pension and health care expenses. Raising the number of elderly leads to overpopulation and a tremendous burden on resources, such as electricity, food, and water. On the other hand, insurance plans could reduce the pressure on finance. Higher awareness of managing personal finance also helps old people be more well-prepared for their post-retirement period. In addition, by loosening migration policies, the governments can navigate the labour force evenly across the world. The number of individuals paying taxes would increase subsequently. Finally, we should encourage the old population to participate in the appropriate working opportunities. Having a suitable job not only creates the meaning of life but also continuously connects them to society. In conclusion, the ageing rates might remain unchanged and its effects are inevitable. However, there are still actions that we could implement to mitigate the impacts.