A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Material possession has been in the recent years be used to judge people as compared in the past. This is so due to development of internet. Old fashioned values no longer matter in the upcoming generation. Development of social media has become a media where especial the young generation can display their possessions. For example, socialites hire luxurious clothes for certain photoshoots which is then posted in their social media pages which in return increase their followers and also their status in the community. This has lead many youths to engage in criminal activities such as fraud because this will enable them get the luxurious items hence increase their status. Secondly, peer pressure among the large population has been made to believe when you are poor you are worthless. Children strife so much to have to own material because their status increases. For instance, during fundraisers in my village only people with big businesses will be invited as main speakers as compared to a small-scale farmer. This notion has been very bad especially when growing up. Old virtues are inborn and believe should continue to be to judge someone's worth. Material get lost over the years and this will in the end decrease your social status. For example, Nelson Mandela is still remembered for the good values he possessed to date but those with wealth once lost we disregard you in the community. In my conclusion,I agree with the statement.Old fashioned values still get a upper hand when judging someone's worth.The idea of using material possession judge should be dropped. Material possession are not there permanently.