Some people focus on news in their own country, while others think it is more important to be aware of international news. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the proliferation of digital media, it has become easier than ever to follow international news stories. However, many people still find it preferable to keep up with local or national news instead. In my opinion, both types of news are essential to keep us abreast of what is happening world. To begin with, the main reason why people prefer reading local news stories is that it has a stronger impact on their lives. By that I mean, that the events happening outside their front doors are more likely to affect their day-to-day life. For example, reading about the platforms of their mayoral candidates might help them choose how to vote in an upcoming election. Another possible reason to focus on national news is the facility to get information easier and in the context where people are living in. This news is considering the language, culture and relevant facts before launching to the public. Accidents in their commute, for instance, will have a direct impact than the traffic outside of the country. On the other hand, certain people claim that international news is actually more relevant to our lives than events in our own country. This is because events on the global stage often have a ripple effect that can profoundly influence people all over the world. The COVID-19 pandemic is a perfect example of a story that began in international news and later became extremely relevant (had serious repercussions to the health and safety of people) at home. Finally, some people like to focus on international news because they can be updated and learn outside of their perspectives. I take myself as an example of this situation because since I have been living outside of my mother country, I still want to keep in touch with the culture of my roots. In my opinion, both international and local are crucial nowadays, however with their differences. While local news will affect more in our daily lives, abroad news might expose us to other languages, cultures and perspectives of the world. To conclude, I believe that everyone has to keep up informed of what is happening local and globally. News is the best way to communicate and inform us about better options, like changing the pathway to work or a pandemic that comes from another country.