Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many people argue that nations can obtain higher achievements international in sport's competitions if they invest in venues aimed solely for the use of elite sports competitors. I believe that this is not a good practice for the society as most of the people will not have access to such facilities. Firstly, it is wildly acknowledge that doing physical exercises are very important to maintain a good health. Thus, even if only in order to reduce costs allocated to the health system, governments should incentivate incentivise and create tools to allow their population do exercises. One way to achieve such goal is to offer access to sports facilities, as using such specialized places will certainly motivate more people to practice a sport. For example, for paying tennis, a tennis court is required. In the same away, to play soccer, it is necessary to have a soccer field. Secondly, by granting access to such venues to the population in general, the chances of developing a greater number of top athletes also increase. Obviously, before becoming top athletes, those individuals had to train and exercise a lot. Also, by restricting the access, the vast majority of the population would be barred to enjoy those places paid and supported by the taxpayers. To conclude, it is my opinion that the restricting the use of sports centers from the general population has a negative impact on the society, as a great number of people will simply do not be able to play a a large number of sports that requires an special infrastructure.