In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kine of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree whit this opinion.

In certain countries, excessive fast food consumption has effected the live of many people as it is the cause of health problems. For government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food is crucial. I partially agree with this statement because there are some alternative policies which may also steer people away from excessive fast food consumption. Many diseases, obesity, diabetes and hypertension, occur bad-eating behavior thus coercive measure to impose the tax of junk food is accepted whether it has effective and worth to manage the increasing number of consumers. First, it makes fast food less desirable as higher tax means higher fast food prices. To illustrate, most people, including workers and students, have their limited lunch budgets. Secondly, the state can use this tax to promote other health policies due to the increased in revenue from this extra rate can fund health- related campaigns such as extra support or benefits for restaurants that serve healthy dishes. For instance, diners, that have been certified by the government that they serve healthy dishes, may get tax exemptions or may be able to apply for a business loan from a state-owned bank. In addition, here are some policies which may also steer people from excessive unhealthy consumption. Government should use other measurement tools and create statistical model such as educate people on healthy products and unhealthy products and implement programs to help young citizens familiarize themselves with healthy diet. Citizen should be educated on the health benefits as well as potential dangers that come with food. For example, once people have been thoroughly, they can choose for themselves and unhealthy food may cause them to have serious health problems, which will surely incur unnecessary expense. To sum up, using the policy of increasing tax of fast food is important but the citizen should use others measures to combine for the maximum benefit of the consumers.