• A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. • To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There is no doubt that the world has become materialistic and it has different parameters of judging people as compared to the past. While some people believe that being rich is the only worthy criteria of determining someone and moral values such as kindness and honour are left far behind, others deny it. In this essay, I will discuss why I believe that morality still persists and money does not portray a person’s true worth. Those who favour monetary values and social status as a mark point out the extravagant lifestyles of millionaires admired by the adolescents only. The reason for it is that young people see only the superficial sparkle and are attracted to it, regardless of the fact of where and how this money came from. For instance, famous celebrities of Hollywood, have lavish lives and their fans want to live the same way but as they don’t have that kind of money they choose the wrong paths. In recent research, in India, more than seventy per cent of youngsters want to be an actor or a dancer because they want to live like their role models. This has resulted in not only the false appraisal of materialism but also loss of the existing morality in quest of achieving the social status set by material loving people. Nevertheless, there are still many personalities out there who respect and follow ancient values such as kindness, honour and trust. These are the good characteristics still taught by many parents as the first lesson of their children’s lives. In Pakistan, for example, a very young singer Shehzad Roy started to work as a philanthropist soon after his first -ever hit song. He is of the view that fame is temporary but good deeds and humanity is forever. Therefore, people must be considered genuine on the basis of their kindness and good work instead of how affluent they are. To conclude, although being rich is considered a sign of dignity, money is volatile. In my opinion characters such as kindness, trust, honour is forever and they should be the criteria to judge someone.