As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Does the advantage of this for individuals outweigh the disadvantage for the environment?

With the advent of state-of-the-art technologies, individuals’ lifestyle has also been changed along with the development of a country. Resultantly, a large number of people the world over are interested in using their own cars rather than sharing with others or using public transport has come along with a number of upsides together with downsides. I, nonetheless, deem that using individual cars is more of a blow in that this tendency will lead to increase the air and noise pollution. One of the predominant reasons why buying and using a separate car by every person is disadvantageous is necessarily synonymous with polluting air to a large extent. In other words, if there are more cars on a road, more fuels will be burnt and released, causing the rise of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and global temperature. To cite an example, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that Dhaka is the most polluted city in this world down to having a huge number of cars beyond its capacity, becoming the city uninhabitable continuously. Thus having a personal car by every person has detrimental effects on the natural environment. Another prevalent drawback is that the increasing number of personal vehicles causes to raise the level of noise pollution. This type of pollution is not only harmful to humans but also to the environment. This is because, birds and other animals cannot live in highly noisy areas, leading them to leave those sites. As a consequence, because of losing biodiversity, the environment is now in dire straits. To exemplify, researchers of Cambridge University have found that 90% of birds left Mumbai city because of too much noise pollution. In conclusion, buying and using a car by every individual indubitably result in numerous catastrophic repercussions on the environment. Hence, from my standpoint, the edges, if there is any, are far outweighed by drawbacks.