Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perception heating a debate over whether the government should hinder a range of food items that does harm to the citizen’s health. While everything has its own merits and demerits, I consider myself a proponent of this school of thought. Firstly, it is reasonable for the opponents to be in favour of keeping airing the advertisements of foodstuff items such as junk food, processed food, highly sugared beverages. The consumption of these food items is hazardous for citizen’s fitness. But these cuisine items attract & fits the consumer's taste, appetite very well, consume little time to cook, and they have lucrative sponsors. Therefore, its gets away very quickly from the shelves. They contribute a major chunk to the GDP of food Industry. It is undeniable fact that power has to promote and support its economy to grow. From this perspective, authority cannot come in the way of growth by banning such food items. However, there are quantifiable benefits for not banning the advertisement of certain food items, but at the same time, its downsides cannot be ignored. Only a healthy nation can be a happy nation and a happy nation can lead to a wealthy, strong and self-sufficient economy. By allowing the countrymen to pick such unhealthy options, future youth will not be physically fit to run the whole nation. Nation has to spend more on health care services to deal with a number of health issues caused by the consumption of such food items. society can very well promote local food and make a sustainable eco-system for food industry. To sum up, after knowing the majority of the facts in favour of and against the move of the government to put a ban on the faux marketing of such food items, It is clear that the demerits of not putting a ban overweigh the benefits of allowing the marketing of such unhealthy food product options. I would also recommend that the law can make the population aware of the side effects of the consumption and benefits of eating locally produced food items, which will again give a boost to local markets.