Housing shortage in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people think only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the lack of housing in megacities might affect the life of society in different ways. While I understand that governmental programmes are powerful tools to tackle this issue, I think that there is a different approach to implement this. In the modern world, citizens, quite often, face the problem of limited number of houses they might reside in. This situation leads to several consequences, first being related to extremely high rent people have to pay. Take New York, for example, where inhabitants have to allocate half of their salary for this purpose. As a result, they cannot afford many other essential things, such as travelling or doing their hobbies. In addition, people have tospend hours commuting to work as there are no housing available near their workplaces, which might be tiring and deprive them of the time that could have been spent with their nearest and dearest. To adress this problem, local authorities should launch the programme directed to support countriside. By doing so, they will attract people to move to this areas, providing them with new employment opportunities. In this way, the local economy can be developed, increasing the level of well-being of local population. Therefore, they will move to villages. However, I consider that businesses are part and parcel of solving the housing problem which can provide successful lives outside urban areas. This is because a variety of new enterprices can start their existance in new deprived areas, making people move from cities, which, in turn, can reduce the need for living in these regions. For instance, one plant opened in countriside, can provide employees with thousands of new positions. If this strategy is implemented, cities will become less populated. Hence, this way cannot be neglected. In conclusion, although I accept that governments are an effective tool for solving the issue, I take the view that businessmen are able to contribute a lot to eliminate it.