Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is argued by many people that government should allocate more funds to public services rather than to the arts, which they consider a waste of money. I tend to disagree with this statement and in this essay, I will discuss my opinion. It is clear that public services have significant meaning for society and therefore, the government should invest a lot of money in them. As a result, we can use public transport networks, hospitals, schools and so on. I agree that the expenditure on medicines is more important than spending on the arts, such as music or theatre. However, I do not agree that government should allocate all funds for improving public services instead of wasting money on arts. Investments in the construction of a music hall or theatre, in the long run, could be as effective as investments in medical research. It is well known that mental health is vitally important as well as physical health and visiting a concert of classical music could bring the same positive result as visiting a psychologist. Moreover, the children could study literature by watching plays in the theatre and they are likely to become more interested in literature in this way than just reading books. To sum up, as can be seen from the points made in this essay, investments in arts could bring positive results equally with a contribution in health services. Music and theatre play a considerably important role in the education of our children as well as backing the mental health of adults who have to cope with stress regularly. There is no doubt that problems should be prevented rather than be addressed.