Children nowadays are spending too much time playing video games and very little time playing sports. Why is this happening? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, most children enjoy spending time playing video games, leaving a small amount of time to engage in physical activities. One possible reason is that parents have hectic schedules preventing them to spend time with their wards, however, I believe that it is causing a negative impact on a child mental and physical health. It is undeniable that parents these days have busy agendas, where they can barely take their kids to enjoy outdoor activities. In other words, parents spend most of their time juggling between their work and chores around the house. As a result, they leave their children to spend time playing computer games where they can keep their children busy in order to finish their tasks. For instance, a working mother finds it more suitable to keep her child enjoy the Ipad to be able to cook a meal or do the laundry. However, not doing enough sports is harmful to human health, especially for children. To state this in other terms, a kid spending most of his leisure time playing a virtual sport, and living a sedentary lifestyle, is at risk of having health issues such as cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, and obesity. For example, a recent study in the United States showed kids who are enrolled in physical activities grow older with a better immunity system than kids who are living a sedentary life. In conclusion, engaging most of the time in virtual computer games is caused by the busy lifestyle of parents nevertheless it is affecting negatively the wellbeing of a child.