Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In most societies, crime is a serious and growing problem.The issue of whether criminals should be locked up behind the bars or not, heated up in recent years. Personally, I believe that sending criminals to jails could be the best decision because of the destructive influences which they might have. In the forthcoming paragraphs, both sides of the view will be discussed. To commence, communities reckon that the best way to combat this problem is a prison sentence. This is mainly because, it will take away freedom from perpetrators and they cannot just walk easily in society and influence others. For example, vandalism actions could have an adverse effect on youngster’s behaviours. In addition, the crime rate will skyrocket, if there is no imprisonment for criminals. On the other hand, others argue that prisons are not practical at all. It is initially because a significant number of jails provides unnecessary and luxury facilities for criminals, such as TV or PS4. Following this, citizens are obligated to pay taxes for these inessential amenities. Furthermore, people who commit petty crimes, such as pickpocketing and shoplifting may be locked up in the same cells as murders and rapists and violent criminals. What is more, petty criminals may even learn how to commit more serious crimes when they are inside. So, this would have dire consequences on those people too. To sum up, many citizens claim that the best way to punish criminals for their actions is to sentence them to time in prison because of their bad influence; while, other people have a completely different point of view, due to the taxation issue. I reckon that the first statement would be the best efficient way to remedy the situation.