In some countries, parents expect children to spend a long time studying in and after school and have less free time. Do you think it has positive or negative effects on children and the society that they live in?

It is hard to deny that we are living in a society with increasing competition, which imposes exceeding pressure on citizens even in their early stages of life. Such a phenomenon leads to an assumption of parents that their offspring should spend a long time in study. However, as for as the definition of happiness, societal well-being, and efficiency are concerned, I firmly believe it is negative to both children and our society. First and foremost. Regarding studying performance as the only priority of happiness is biased and unpersuasive, especially for parents, whose ultimate aim is to see their next generation leading a healthy and happy life. Nevertheless, exceedingly long studying hours and limited leisure time undoubtedly compromise adolescents’ physical and mental development. This is because the time which is supposed to be spent on sports, art, and other extra-curricular activities has been engulfed, and those events are viewed as an indispensable process in cultivating youngsters’ character. To this end, the children will never experience real happiness for the rest of their life. Furthermore, the irrational expectations of parents tend to raise a passive social narrative. Take the case of China as an example, where children are supposed to learn as much as possible even when they are in kindergarten. Influenced by the wild spread narrative, every single child has no choice but to be involved in this competition and bear heavy peer pressure, which undermines their aspiration to the future. Had they not been exhausted in their early ages, they would never have been loose anticipation and ambitions in their future. Nevertheless, a voice may raise that only through long studying time can they compete in this fierce campaign. Ironically, the link between studying time and efficiency is missing in this assertion; it is the long studying period that declines the studying efficiency of students, due to their physical durability and mental resistance. Conversely, chances are that students perform equally well as long as they make full use of their studying time by enhancing effectiveness. In a nutshell, I maintain the idea that expecting children to study too long can leave a negative influence on both individuals and society considering real happiness, societal well-being, and learning effectiveness.