As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. What are the causes of this trend and what are the effects on society?

As the progression of the society, family size changed from extended families to small families or even living alone. In this essay, both the factors and results of this phenomenon would be further illustrated. First of all, focusing on the elements of the trend, prolonged working hours is the fundamental reason for the change. Metropolises tend to work overtime in order to fulfill the requirement of their bosses and obtain the opportunities of job advancement, resulting in isolated lifestyles. To exemplify, the average working hour in Tokyo, one of the most competitive cities over the world, is over 50 hours a week, which seriously affect the work-life balance of dwellers; citizens were tired of having social interaction after hustle working lives, leading to 30% of the working class who are living alone. Moreover, the cost of child rearing is another salient point to consider. Nowadays, the youngsters have to learn mass skills so that they can meet the requirement of school entries. In Hong Kong, parents need to spend approximately 4 billions to raise a kid, not only a burden to residents but also hesitate the younger couples. Turning to the drawback to the nation, low birth rate and an aging population are essential. Since senior citizens have more chronic diseases, more tax revenues have to be allocated into the medical sector, which is a burden to the society. Apart from financial problems, the narrowing labour force would reduce the competitiveness of the country as well as limit the surging of GDP (Gross Domestic Product). To conclude, given extensive job pressure and expensive cost on child care are the factors which prohibit the locals to live individually and have kids, long term effects such as economic loss and shortage of laborers can be extrapolated. It would be an insurmountable obstacle for the government in the near future.