In modern society, ambition is more and more important. How important is ambition for being successful in life? Is ambition a positive or negative characteristic?

In this ever-changing world, not only students but also commuters have various goals to achieve. In order to complete those achievements, it is essential for dream seekers to develop a firm and concrete plan. Thus, ambition becomes one of the fundamental elements in the road of success, which is beneficial to mankinds. First of all, without a desire, it is difficult for people to escape from their comfort zone and fulfill their targets. Take President Lincoln as an example, he broke the norms of citizens in the USA and freed the slaves since he had a strong belief that there was no hierarchy among human beings. If he did not have a strong stance, no change would be made. Never should individuals neglect the power of willinglessness. Furthermore, ambition helps people to strive for their goals. To exemplify, So Wan Wai, a Hong Kong athlete who won eight gold medals in paralympics, focused on winning the game at each competition; no matter how hard the training is, he kept his strong and clear mindset, finishing the race. Undoubtedly, ambition works as a driving force to the society, helping individuals to solve insurmountable obstacles as well as uplifting the development of the city. On the other hand, ambition can be a two-edged sword once it is misused. Ambitious people such as Hitler brought wars and catastrophe to the world, however, it is just an exception. How many Hitler had appeared in the history of the last century? Generally speaking, this unique characteristic provides more beauties than pitfalls in terms of innovative science and creative ideas. Talents like Bill Grates developed intelligent mobiles which alters the direction of telecommunication and fastens the development of digitalizations. To conclude, with the result of better development of the society, the role of ambition is salient. Nevertheless, whether it brings merits or demerits to humans, it depends on the user.