Large businesses have big budget for marketing and promotion and as a result people gravitate towards buying their products. What problem does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Nowadays, in the era of digitalization and we see a lot of big companies, aggressively endorsing their products using various marketing methods to be in the limelight. The fancier endorsement of the product, the stronger it influences the consumer and attracts him to purchase their product. As a result, local brands are being impacted as they struggle hard to stay in business. Therefore, ways to create a balance is deemed necessary to support them. Large businesses, usually MNC’s have huge investments to make products with higher quality but find it necessary to allocate a major portion towards marketing to increase awareness, hence sales and at times compromise quality. They use automatic machinery to produce products at good production rates and require less or no manpower. The local companies find it nearly impossible to match the competition, even though they provide good quality at a reasonable price. As a matter of fact, they either close or keep struggling to stay in the market and eventually shut down. All of this results in a major issue of unemployment and directly impacts the economy. It is important to maintain the balance between small and large businesses to reduce unemployment and the government should take necessary measures to control it. For instance, “Vocal for Local” shall be promoted and that creating awareness among people about misleading brand endorsements should be implemented. Government should implement special compensation and provide easy loan facilities to encourage people to open local brands and reduce unemployment. To conclude, big companies do invest in marketing their product and acquire a major portion of the society to purchase their products, but somehow adversely affect the local brands, hence reducing a lot of employment opportunities. However, government plays an important role in helping small businesses, society plays a major role in creating awareness too.