Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organisations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientific studies are salient for the development of countries. While some argue that it is the governments ' responsibility to allocate funds for scientific research and to manage the scientific system, others believe that private organisations are more effective in assisting the scientific sector, and they should be given that responsibility. I agree with the former argument because of its financial and scientific benefit to nations. In this essay, I will illustrate why I consider funding and controlling scientific exploration as a governmental role. To begin with, administrations should support scientific developments due to their attribute to offer reliable financial. This appears as governments offer a constant commitment to allocate adequate funds for research projects without losing interest, whereas industrial organisations may deter offering money to projects that prove to have less impact on their productivity and financial income. Anthropology and Social studies, for instance, can have little interest to be funded by private organisations, though its significant impact on resolving social issues such as domestic violence. If these projects are not given attention by the government as an attempt to solve the critical national issues, their implementation will be impossible and that will affect the development of the nation. Therefore, it is pivotal to make governments responsible for financial support and guidance. Moreover, governmental management for national scientific projects leads to success in achieving the prospective aims towards science, individuals and society. Science should be controlled by officials, who are directly aware of the national problems that prevent social development. The Chinese government's control over medical research has lead to the development of a covid-19 vaccine earlier than other nations in late 2020. If these studies were managed by private companies such as Pfizer or Moderna, their main aim would have been reaching a profit faster than achieving reliable scientific results that could protect the individual and society. Thus, administrative control over scientific research is more effective than private control.  In conclusion, in my opinion, governments should have full access to fund and manage how science develops their countries. They, furthermore, should be responsible for allocating funds and managing the scientific projects implemented in their nations to achieve the best results in solving the medical, social and economic issues.