Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organisations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientific studies are salient for the development of countries. While some argue that it is the government's responsibility to allocate funds for science and to manage the scientific system, others believe that private organisations are more effective at assisting this sector, and they should be given that responsibility. I agree with the former argument because of its financial and scientific benefits to nations. In this essay, I will illustrate why I consider funding and controlling science as a governmental role. To begin with, administrations should support scientific developments due to their ability to offer reliable financial funding. This appears as governments offer a constant commitment to allocate adequate funds for research programs without losing interest, whereas industrial organisations may resent offering money to projects that prove to have less impact on their productivity and financial income. Anthropology and Social studies, for instance, can have little interest in being funded by private organisations, despite its significant impact on resolving social issues such as domestic violence. If these projects are not given attention by the government in an attempt to prevent critical national issues from exacerbating, their implementation will be impossible and that will affect the development of the nation. Therefore, it is pivotal to make governments responsible for financial support and guidance. Moreover, governmental management of national scientific projects leads to success in achieving the prospective aims of science, individuals, and society. Science should be controlled by officials, who are directly aware of the national problems that prevent social progress. The Chinese government's control over medical research has led to the development of a covid-19 vaccine earlier than other nations in late 2020. If these studies were managed by private companies such as Pfizer or Moderna, their main aim would have been to achieve a profit faster than achieving reliable results that could protect the individual and society. Thus, administrative control over the scientific system is more effective than private control. In conclusion, in my opinion, governments should have full access to allocate funds and manage how science develops their countries. They, furthermore, should be responsible for allocating funds and managing the scientific projects implemented in their nations to achieve the best results in solving medical, social and economic issues. However, private organisations can assist in bringing science to life.