These days the internet is easily accessible to children. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, the advancements in technologies lead to the fact that people are exposed to them more. Even children have access to computers and the Internet on a daily basis. In this essay, I will explain why I think this is a negative tendency, which might result in many aspects of children’s lives. All over the world, the rate of children’s health is declining rapidly. In fact, an average child now spends about 5 minutes outside compared to 7 hours in front of screens, which hampers any developments of the immune system. Indeed, while a child browsing social media feed constantly sit indoors, for example, he barely moves during the day. In my opinion, without active childhood, the body is unable to be resistant to external viruses and other dangerous factors that could affect children’s health later. An additional point that may be worth pointing out is the impact of the Internet on the mental stability of the young generation. Given the fact that the Internet contains a bunch of negative information and children are constantly exposed to this data, their mental health could inevitably suffer too. Surfing on the Internet every single child might encounter various abusive phrases on forums, for example, or news about tragic events with severe consequences. This particular exposure on a daily basis could harm mental stability, which impacts the children’s wellbeing. In conclusion, even though the Internet brings to the world many benefits, we should prevent the effects that stem from the use of the Internet, which, in turn, deteriorate the body and mental state of children.