Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family run business?

Running a family business is becoming very popular among many people around the world. While there is numerous benefits of establishing a family-run business, few drawbacks also pull a plug on this type of venture in some instances. This essay will look into both merits as well as demerits of trades that are maintained by a family. One major positive of a family-owned business is that profit does not need to be shared with any other party. This results in a greater amount of profit that can be utilised to grow the business. For example, there are a number of family farms in Australia which are found to be lasting a significantly longer period of time with substantial profits. Moreover, many people trust their family members more than any outsiders which bring the continuation of a venture. Therefore, a business becomes exponentially profitable overtime under consistent ownership. However, there are some disadvantages of this which cannot be underestimated. A trade that is solely operated by like-minded family people often lacks innovation. The business model becomes monotonous and in many cases, may lead to termination due to this reason. Most consumers nowadays are very aware of the products. As a result, the business needs to be on its toes with intellectual advancement which could be missing with the same approach of trading under family ownership. In conclusion, despite some drawbacks of a family-maintained venture, mostly it brings consistency as well as a greater sense of trust and income.