In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Modern means of transportation create huge problems on the city roads, as a consequence numerous people believe that the amount of taxes car owners should pay must be increased, so that this money may serve for public transportation improvements. The pros of such a resolution include scaling up the governmental budget for urban life needs, however, this decision may lead to protests among those who need a private auto for various life purposes. This essay will illustrate both advantages and disadvantages of such a way of making city-life better. The main benefit of charging additional fees for using a private van is that the amount of money collected may be used for enhancing public transport systems in urban areas. Basically, the number of vehicle stops might be extended, as well as much more buses, trolley buses and city trains can possibly be in use, so that citizens would not have to wait more than 5-10 minutes to have a ride and will not demand to use a car very often any more. For instance, in the research conducted by Vienna Smart City Center it has been proved that in the areas, where public transportation is thoroughly developed, people use cars 20% less often in comparison with those who live in hard-to-reach areas. However, there is a clear drawback of severe charging automobile drivers, who may stay in a strong opposition and refuse to pay in a form of protesting. The reason for such a negative reaction may probably be poor infrastructure in the area, where the car owners leave, so that they will not have any chance to get to a desired destination quickly. Moreover, if these folks still need to use a car, the obligation to pay for its usage can increase the feeling of injustice and lead to active protests. For example, the French were protesting against high fuel taxes in 2018 and the street riots turned violent. In conclusion, despite the fact that there are clear advantages of prospective improvements in a city infrastructure with the help of money being taken from car owners, it may result in street protests of those, who are about to be charged for owning a car.