Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some people think they should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

For the time being, the maintenance of the old buildings has never failed to provoke a debate. While some claim that a wealth of old buildings should be preserved because of their redeeming features of the nation’s history, the counterpart makes a statement that that should be destroyed to make room for modern houses and offices. While the former has some valid reason, it may potentially do more good than harm. As far as the importance of protection of ancient relics is concerned, several factors contribute to its significance, since this is the symbol that a nation respects its cultural values and is willing to save them as a monument of pride for a country. For example, the house of Uncle Ho, despite being tatty, still archives the rustic lifestyle of one bringing freedom to the Vietnamese. If we knock down that, the next generation loses a chance to see in the flesh and know more interesting information or characteristics of Uncle Ho. Meanwhile, some people believe that history is a hindrance to the development of a country, which seems unjustified. It is one of the robust sources to progress in the modern world. Nevertheless, it is a fact that history plays a significant role in raising the economy of a nation. For instance, there are a million tourists that visit such traditional places every year, and through this, a country can generate useful revenue which can be utilized in the protection, and renovation of such buildings. Therefore, it is undeniable to say that history can still find its position in a fast-paced society. In conclusion, It is an undeniable fact that historical buildings are the national heritage of the state, as these relics not only draw a polite picture of traditional values but also contribute to generating a reasonable revenue that could be utilized in uplifting the economy of own country.