Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

There is a controversial statement heating a debate over the fact that many museums and historical places are frequently visited by tourists but not local residents. This essay is devoted to analyzing the underlying reasons with equivalent solutions, followed by parallel justifications. Without a shadow of doubt, there are a myriad of reasons why the locals come to the museums at a low frequency. Obviously, the locals are already familiar with their culture and history and perhaps have nothing new to discover by frequenting the same museums again and again. In fact, the underlying root is that the museums are rarely updated. What they showcase this month is in no way different from what they showcased last month or last year. Therefore, local residents will have a tendency to devote their time for other leisure activities such as travelling or shopping and fail to spend time in museums. Meanwhile, tourists are more likely to stop off at local museums and historical sites so that they could broaden their horizon and have a deeper understanding of the culture of these places. Nevertheless, there are a wealth of solutions that can be used to tackle the problem. With a view to attracting the locals, the museums must update themselves frequently in order to diversify the content. For instance, adopting international masterpieces from gifted artists such as Leonardo da Vinci or Picasso will draw a great appeal to local visitors. Moreover, by housing works from cross-bordered countries, local people will have a more rounded multi-dimensional view over the globe. Another plausible reason could be lowering the entrance fee of the exhibitions so that every walk of life, even toddlers or those impoverished can have full means to pay. In conclusion, although this issue is attributed to a wealth of reasons, there are not without workable solutions for that. In order to receive more public attention, the heritage sites and museums should be altered.