International sporting events are costly and bring problems to the hosting country. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your position

Many hold different views about whether mega sporting events would cost a great deal and bring issues to the host. While I understand there are several disadvantages to this activity, I would argue that the benefits will outweigh the drawbacks, which will be elaborated on in this essay. On the one hand, it is believed that sporting events at the global level will cause two main difficulties to the country's hosting. Firstly, because this type of activity is likely to attract a tremendous number of sports fans and visitors from different backgrounds, there is a likelihood that a conflict could occur among fans during the event. Therefore, a huge influx of overseas travellers could pose a threat to the safety and security of the citizens. Secondly, mega events such as the Fifa World Cup would require national resources from hosting countries to construct new venues which are only used during the event. For example, a multitude of stadiums in Brazil were abandoned and downgraded after the Olympic tournament due to the lack of funds allocated to maintain them. On the other hand, I believe that there are several clear advantages to the hosting country. The first and most apparent influence is that international sporting tournaments would encourage cultural exchanges. For instance, foreign visitors are willing to research the location they travel to and speak other languages to trade or try different local dishes in the hosting country. As a consequence, this will promote mutual understanding and trust among nations. The second positive side is that since a large number of guests will spend their money on their accommodation and meals, this is a great opportunity for the hosting country to boost their tourism economy and development. Moreover, hospitality businesses are likely to hire more staff to work for this event, which also helps reduce the rate of unemployment in general. In conclusion, though hosting international sporting events might be expensive and disadvantageous to the stability of a country, I believe this activity will not only develop the tourism and economy but also help encourage cultural exchange.