In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or mall to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Over the past few years, local vendors have been eradicated due to contemporary shopping patterns that have drawn consumers into the mega-complex. Such impact will impose a negative effect on society since this would lead to unemployment as well as inflation. To begin with, prices at shopping malls are significantly at higher levels in order to cope with the competition. The central reason behind this is large complex has been decorated in an awe-inspiring manner for appealing to the customers which proportionally increase the amount of rental, electricity bill and other relevant taxes. As a result, the same product has to be sold at a soaring rate when compared to a local shop. For example, a recent study shows that retailing value of ladies bags in the same brand is twofold in high-rise markets when comparing to small shops; nevertheless, consumers are eager to buy them at high rates. Moreover, when the demand decreases, small retailers are in for a hard time, leading to bankruptcy and giving up the business permanently. Due to the consumption declining, profit reduces as a repercussion and hence, closes up the available business opportunities. Seen in this light, smaller sellers and assistants could lose their positions which would result in unemployment unless the government addresses it immediately. For example, an extensive survey has found that every six months at least one local outlet is to be eradicated. To conclude, customers are attracted ever-greater by the mall-complex which could undoubtedly result in deteriorating of small business. Thus, creating an immense impact on the society ranging from unemployment to price soaring; however, if the government address the problem correctly by funding or promoting them to choose their path to develop, this might be solved up to some degree in the future.