Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one Give reasons for your answer & include any examples from your own knowledge or experience

Majority of the schools in India, i.e., the country that I hail from, bar the use of mobile phones within the school premises. I firmly believe that this is a positive development in the right direction with multiple reasons to support my claim. Firstly, use of mobiles inside the school can be extremely distracting for many students - the ones using it as well as those who are not. Students may not fully concentrate on the pedagogy or the content of what is being taught to them. This is because, from a practical lens, there may be a slight possibility of students being able to use mobiles from underneath their study desks in a classroom when teachers turn their backs to write on the boards or engage in another activity. For instance, when I was in the 12th grade, when a few of my classmates brought their mobiles to school. Unsurprisingly, they made many frivolous and perfidious excuses to use their phones under the pretext of leaving the classes for going to the washroom. If this sort of deception and misrepresentation is permitted, students are likely to go astray and loose focus in the process. Secondly, ostentatious use of mobile phones by students many augment the wedge between the haves and the have-nots. There is a huge digital divide, especially in India, between the affluent and the destitute. Naturally, this gap should not be made palpable in an educational institution, where the primary aim of the authorities is to inculcate good morals, values and principles amongst the youth. More often than not, young minds tend to get easily influenced and moved by the conduct of those around them. Hence, if students witness their contemporaries using high-end, expensive or luxurious mobile phones beside them, when they themselves cant afford to, they may habour feelings of resentment, jealousy and hate. This ought to disrupt the healthy environment of growth and learning at school. Thirdly, research has shown that overuse of mobile phones tends to have an astronomical impact on one's mental health and overall well-being. If people, particularly minors, are exposed to the radiowaves transmitted by the mobile phones at all hours of the day, their general temprament is likely to be adversely impacted. Simply put, it is imperative for students to get the much-needed break from the digital world of technology, internet, and artificial intelligence, at least at a time when their location - i.e., a school - merits their unwavering attention. In the absence thereof, students are inevitably going to be more inclined to wander off in all directions that they can lay their eyes on, over the social media. In conclusion, since mobile phones can be highly disruptive devices that hamper the students ' focus, social interaction, as well as mental health, the restriction placed on their usage by schools is indeed a positive development.