Some people think that to reduce traffic and pollution, the government should increase tax on petrol (gasoline). Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is an increase trend of mobilization within the society to fulfil their overall needs and this will lead to more congestions and bad air status. It is supposed by many that the regulatory should impose more tax on fuel to offset that condition. This essay will discuss both23 sides of the argument. To begin with, imposing more cess on petrol will bring several positive values. Firstly, by doing so, there will be a change in the way people travel. A more expensive price of gasoline will make citizen think twice before deciding to drive their own private cars. For example, the data from ministry of transportation stated that adding 5% more cess on these products will bring a significant drop on the overall usage of private vehicles. In addition to that, people will also start to change to public systems to go everywhere. Thus, this program will cause a major drop in traffic and pollution. On the contrary, there is also an important downside in implementing this program. By adding more fees to the fuel, it will also affect the other economic aspects, such as household. More people will suffer in the increase price of gasoline because this good also important in many businesses. For instance, a soaring price of petrol will make many restaurants have difficulty in maintaining their previous food price due to the rising fees of production. Consequently, less citizen will be able to afford foods. To conclude, increasing tax on gasoline will impact the reduction of congestion and bad air status. However, it will also make the life of people more difficult in many aspects. Although, based on the factors mentioned above, it seems that the advantages still outweigh the bad ones.