Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that giving longer prison sentences works the best to decrease crime rate, whereas others think that better alternative ways are more effective. In my opinion, there are better different ways as crime types are case by case, though prison periods can influence crime decline partly and temporarily. Preventing crime occurrences in advance can be considered as a priority rather than giving heavy sentences afterwards. Remaly, many cases of repeated crimes occur after heavy punishments such as long prison sentences because the criminals hardly could seek opportunities for living out of prison. If the criminals had got vocational training or been given opportunities for their careers in prison, the repeated criminal rate would have been reduced. Moreover, unintentional crimes due to criminals ’ ignorance can be avoided by educating citizens with legal knowledge and improving public awareness of everyday crimes. These types of crimes cannot disappear if courts give the criminals longer prison sentences. Blocking seriously heavy criminals from society for longer periods can contribute to crime decline. Historically, many criminals as psychopaths in mentally abnormal situations have been addicted to cruel wrongdoings like murder and rape, which deserve to be punished maximally to isolate them as long as possible. For example, there had been no murder occasion in a particular village where women had been found to be killed on the trails, while a person had been prisoned for stealing. Police officers could notice whom the murderer was based on the circumstances. Without the prison sentence to the criminal, more women might have become victims of the evil acts. To conclude, there have been the best ways to decrease crime rate by crime types. To prevent repeated or unintentional crimes, vocational training and public education can be more significant instead of heavy punishments, whereas some brutal criminals should be isolated for longer from general society.