In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Teenagers in certain nations are motivated to take a gap year before embarking on their tertiary education. This essay will suggest that gaining experience and financial development are the biggest advantages of the said approach; however, delaying the career and alleviating motivation to study would be the primary disadvantages. Multifarious benefits are associated with a period off in order to travel or work, before enrolling to further studies such as learning more about the world and earning money. Firstly, this would open youngsters' minds to new worlds for obtaining practical exposure in the real world as well as horning their capability to having responsibilities. Moreover, students could have a great possibility to earn at least a minimum wage while having experience in a working environment, in which they receive financial training whilst being able to save money for their university courses. For example, a recent article by 'Daily News' reported that an average student at Sri Lankan university requires a minimum of LKR 600,000 per annum just to survive, and nearly 5% of students drop out because they could not afford the course fees. On the other hand, teenagers lose a year that could have been used to sharpening and advance their future career and lack the curiosity to further education would be the major disadvantages. The first and foremost reason behind this is that due to taking a gap of twelve months, students could fall behind a period than their counterparts and hence, would be a tremendous impact while applying for jobs since the labour market seeks employees who are young with high qualifications. Furthermore, a job might consume an incredible period of time and comes with fringe benefits which would lead to a hindrance to pursuing tertiary studies. For example, an extensive survey by Oxford University shows that approximately 28% of pupils who take a gap year never continue tertiary education. To conclude, taking a break from studies have positives ranging from allowing youngsters to accumulate savings and learn more about the real-life; nevertheless, there are certain disadvantages associated with this such as delaying their particular field and obstruction to embarking on the campus courses.