Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages ?

These days many people work ridiculously long hours. Consequently, they have hardly any time for fun-filled activities. In my opinion, this development has more demerits than merits. There are two major reasons for people to work harder. Firstly, they are rewarded for the efforts they put in relentlessly. For instance, many employees burn midnight oil to get promoted. This helps them to take more money home. Secondly, workers believe that their contribution plays a major role in inflating the profits of the company. For example, entrepreneurs usually work round the clock for years to get ahead in the competitive markets. Consequently, they compromise on enjoying the lighter moments of life and just focus on their career growth. Unfortunately, this can be pretty disadvantageous for two prominent reasons. In the first place, employees get burnt out with increasing job pressure. According to a Harvard study, about 10% of overworked employees die due to health complications arising from excessive stress at work. Working overtime also affects the productivity of employers. Overworked employers, for example, are more likely to make mistakes that can prove costly. They are also able to produce less despite spending more time at work. Another downside of this development is the collapse of families. When people cannot dedicate enough time to their family, it will affect their bonding. This leads to higher levels of stress and a sense of dissatisfaction. By contrast, if people find enough time for their family and various leisure activities, they will be able to rejuvenate themselves and get back to work feeling refreshed the next morning. To conclude, working overtime might help people earn more in the short term; however, in the long term it will destroy their health and family life. Hence, in my opinion, the disadvantages of this development outweigh the advantages.