Some people think that criminals should be given longer terms in prison, so as to reduce the crime rate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided as to whether the reduction of crimes can be taken place by long-term incarceration. Despite the fact that there are some benefits of giving a long span in lockup, I believe that it is not effectively key to solve this problem. Some people hold the idea that if imprisoners were in long-period jail, it would encourage people to face their past, build skills and achieve personal awareness. the reason could be the fact that many convicts considered the prison as a extreme nightmare that is a difficult time for them to live day-by-day. For example, after they have learned and comply with strict rules, they would be able to rethink unsuitable decisions they have made, Also a sense of guilt can prevent human beings from turning back into the failure of their life again. It not only changes their behaviours but also enhances opportunities to be a right person. On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why I argue against long-term incarceration. Firstly, ample evidence suggests that longer prison terms are often inadequate or even counterproductive in motivating people to make positive change. If people think they have to be in prison for decades, they may be less motivated to take part in programming that helps them reenter society. As a result of that once released, they often find themselves ill-equipped to navigate the outside world. The second reason is that living in weakened communities can cause more violence since the lack of treatment and support from each other. I am convinced that this punishment is not key to changing people ’s behaviour, it only punishes past actions but not prevents new harm. In conclusion, I can understand why many people encourage long-term lockup policy, I disagree that it can be a productive way to halt the violence which comes from criminals.