Some people think that they can make as much noise as they want, while others think that the amount of noise people make should be strictly controlled. Discuss both views and include your own opinion and examples.

As a result of civilization, valuable traditions and norms have been replaced with modern manners and etiquette. But, the problem of noise pollution remains relevant in today’s society. It is often argued that being a citizen of democratic society an individual has the right to make noises and express themselves, whilst others disagree and think that the levels of sound being created should be regulated. I believe that strict measures should be taken against the noise producers who distract or disturb others. (82) On the one hand, people can make as much noise as they want because it is their fundamental human right and personal preference. In other words, making sounds is an accepted behavior and provides enjoyment in modern society. Moreover, it mostly depends on the situation, for instance, during the various events, like football matches or festivals, cheering and singing are essential things because crowd noise motivates sportsmen to win. In addition to this, freedom of producing sounds is considered as a recreational therapy and in certain occasions allows persons to feel stress-free and relaxed. (94) On the other hand, the amount of noise produced should be restricted for several reasons. Firstly, too much noise can have negative effects on people’s health. Exposure to excessive sound causes problems such as stress, fatigue from lack of sleep and more serious issues like cardiovascular disease, cognitive impairment especially among old generation. Secondly, it is impolite to disturb people’s work or study as it decreases their concentration and productivity. For example, students will not be able to pay full attention to their preparations, if any music is being played. (90) To conclude, despite the fact that making noise is allowed during some special events, its level should be limited by taking the necessary steps, because sound formation is a source of serious health problems and disturbance. (36)