Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

As it is well known, Advertisement is an essential tool in promoting products and services to customers. One may opine that advertisements assist consumers in giving their life an upgrade. I am the other side that agrees that most of the time, advertising persuades target users to buy unnecessary goods. This is due to the pervasive effects of adverts on people’s emotions and youth in the developmental stage using behavioural reinforcement techniques. To begin with, online advertising has become more profitable thanks to the behaviour tracker program. The more tracking technologies improve, the more companies spend money advertising online. The algorithm tries, among other logic, to retarget users who have already seen their selling items on a website. As a result, the cybernaut's brain will respond positively to the purpose of the advert, which clearly is to attract and win over the customer. Secondly, one of the strategies companies appeal to tempt the public to their offers is the emotional trigger. In general, the image presented promises to fit the consumer to society's standards of status or beauty, for example. People under mental disorders, such as anxiety and personality disorder, are strongly inclined to be deluded by the ad. Thirdly, another concerned target is kids in their developmental stages of life who spend time online playing video games. For instance, while they are having fun, popups show them fast food promotions, offering benefits in online games. The consequence of this type of unhealthy unwanted item is childhood obesity. In conclusion, Advertisement can be perceived as beneficial for some people. However, it is important to recognise the real intention behind it. The main idea of marketing is to profit at any point. So, it is my belief that advertising uses every strategy to induce customers to buy, including superfluous products.