Some experts suppose that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizens happier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some professionals opine that any additional increase in the economic wealth of a nation that is already rich does not translate to the happiness of its people. I totally agree with this statement as there are some other issues that take away the happiness of the public, and this includes gun violence and the high cost of real estate. It is not rocket science that people living in wealthy countries enjoy high-quality lives and a wide range of economic opportunities; however, there are social challenges like gun violence and drug addiction that drain the resources of these countries. Others like the United States and Canada allow their citizens to own weapons, but they are misused by the licensed owners. Bad elements, out of frustrations or mental health issues, go to public places and shoot out people. There have been so many cases reported in the US, and these incidents tend to affect the mood of rich countries. The increased cost of real estate is also a problem, which negatively affects the views of any country’s population. They may be having high-paying jobs, but housing costs may be out of their reach, and as a result, people tend to struggle a lot and continue renting because they cannot afford to buy houses. In most cases, the cost of housing may be driven up by wealthy individuals and foreigners with deep pockets. Therefore, individuals get frustrated due to such issues. I do not disagree with the statement since rich countries tend to be having more problems than even poor nations. As mentioned earlier, the United States and Canada are good examples of developed countries with rampant cases of gun violence. Similarly, wealthy people commit suicide because of drug addiction. So, in my opinion, increased economic opportunities do not mean happiness. In summary, the increased wealth of countries do not automatically make people happy as there are many other social issues like gun violence and the increasing cost of properties, which make them unhappy.