In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather then buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

When it comes to housing, some people regard having their own houses as an ultimate pursuit. Vital and ideal as it sounds, I personally would stand on the negative side. Firstly, the desire was triggered because people were brainwashed by the real-estate commercials, and the concept kept being passed on from generation to generation. Construction is a big business. In order to earn more, construction companies claim that owning a personal house brings happiness and keep destroying the environment to build more houses. People believed the arguments, even those who don’t necessarily need their own house. Not only do commercials cause people to compulsively want to make a big purchase that is not the best option for them, but they help construction companies become richer whilst sacrificing the environment. Moreover, mobility could be another big issue if you don’t work at a company near your home. As you bought the house sitting at a fixed spot, it could be inconvenient for you to commute to the office. Some people thus rent a house near their office, that is to say, they have to pay more. Even if these homeowners don´t have to rent a place, they still have to pay transport and it can translate into a big amount of money in addition to a lot of time spent commuting. Only if you work near where you live, you can save on transportation money and time. Furthermore, it is more costly to buy rather than rent, though some insist that it the property will become their own when the mortgage is repaid after several decades of payments. What they didn’t fully realize are the considerable upfront down payment and the high mortgage interest rates. If you are a homeowner, you need to pay for your repairs. But if you rent, the landlord will pay for the repairs. In conclusion, If you don’t think about the pros and cons thoroughly, you can be making a deal with a devil. Issues such as convenience and value should be taken into consideration. After all, what we need is just a place to live, which is not equal to buying one ourselves.