In many countries legal driving age is 18 years old. Some people believe it is the right age to learn how to drive a car, whereas others say that the minimum age should be 25. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The age of 18 is considered as an age of getting into adulthood by most of the nations world wide, and so that at this age, they could apply for a driving license after learning to drive. One group of people oppose this, and suggest to give the permission to learn driving a car only after 25, considering various factors, which I strongly believe are highly sensible. Starting driving a car at an early age of 18 has it’s own benefits. Firstly, adolescents start to feel responsibility on their own deeds, and that sense of realisation helps them in the process of transition to adulthood in a positive manner. For instance, they no longer have to depend on a parent or other guardian to travel few miles to get a work done, or to shop some essentials. Secondly, for those who earn some bucks alongside their studies- though not so popular in some developing countries like India- could commute to the work place on time, and thus ethics of punctuality gets instilled from the tender age. On the other hand, waiting till 25 for the first lesson of one of the biggest life skill is a matter of safety and protection to our younger ones. More specifically, 18 is still a teenage, which is overwhelmed with all adolescent hormones that creates innumerable problems, that make them behave immature, adventurous, angry, upset, panic, to name a few. If one of them made an accident- to exemplify- there is a tendency to hide the mistake and run away from the situation, rather than trying to sorting out the situation. In this period of life, they put themselves on top of others and value their opinion rather than seeking elder’s advice, whereas at 25, they grow up to a responsible individual and can handle most of the obstacles by their own. To conclude, it is not a bad idea to learn a crucial habit at 18 for it’s habit changing advantage, even though, I personally go with those who claim to do that 7 years later because of the maturity that would be gained over time.