The protection of environment is most important issue in the world today, but governments are not doing enough about it. To what extent do you think individuals can help to protect the environment?

Nowadays, environmental problems and environmental degradation are perhaps the most concerning issues all around the world. The worldwide damages from this dilemma are not deniable. In fact, ordinary citizens alone cannot solve it but their everyday choices and lifestyles definitely impact the issue to make it worse or better. In my opinion, governments all around the world should take initiatives to promote awareness among citizens as well as take large-scale objectives to fight global environmental problems. Retrospective studies about this issue have produced many significant results and they exhibit that in bygone years, environmental affairs were not as substantial as it is today. Different choices that ordinary people make in their lives like the food they buy, beverages they drink, clothes they were, the way they purchase their groceries, or even the programme they watch also affect the environment one way or another. For instance, when a person decides to buy organic fruits, it can make a difference in the carbon footprint he or she makes from that decision. This is why the government should involve ordinary citizens to become aware of the global warming issues and how environmental degradation affects their life. Once they are included in the programme and initiatives, things can start becoming better. Moreover, since more than 70 per cent of environmental pollutions is due to industrializations, which increases when we build more industries, global leaders should decide where we should be heading from here. We need industries for jobs, manufacturing, and economic progress, but the government must decide at what environmental costs this progress should go on. It needs a balance and strict regulation where government alone can intervene. For instance, if the government makes regulations that every industry needs to produce green power to run their machines or continue their manufacturing, it can be a game-changer. To conclude, ordinary people have a lot to contribute and the government should include them to fight the environmental problems and to reverse the process. However, in some areas, like making regulations to force industry owners to produce green power, the government has to make initiatives alone to contribute towards a safer and greener world.