Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production. Some people think that as land is becoming scarce, the world’s meat consumption should be reduced. What measures could be taken to reduce the world’s meat consumption? What kinds of problem such measures cause?

A part of the population agrees that the global consumption of meat should be limited due to the increasing scarcity of land. Up until now, there are already several measures being taken; however, they have their own drawbacks. First of all, the world has been seeing campaigns of boycotting meat because vegetables also have the same proteins as meat does. Many researches also supported this by pointing that eating meat leads to a better chance of cancer and other health issues. However, from the early age of the human until now, meat has been an essential part of our daily life, which is proved to be an insane challenge to change the whole world diet. Moreover, even if this was a success, the cattle which used to feed us would face the threat of extinction, as we would have to eliminate them because of its useless and its vegetarian diet, which would reduce the amount of vegetables for human. Another measure is that some governments tax meat higher than “green food”. For instance, in Vietnam, in order to pursue the citizens to eat more vegetables, meat prices are significantly higher and can cost even nearly ten times its counterparts. Nevertheless, it this continued, many people who live on cattle will have to say bye to their career, which results in higher unemployment. In addition, since vegetables are cheap, more of them would have to be produced to ensure their farmers lives and satisfies the public needs. Therefore, this wouldn’t solve the land problem at all. In conclusion, while it is true that meat production takes more space than crop does, it is undeniable that meat can’t be replace totally by crops. However, it is true that we should eat more vegetables due to its benefits.