Competition for university study is becoming increasingly strong. Why are universities becoming more competitive? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is conspicuous that in this current era, people have become much more competitive in trying to get a seat in a university. This increasing trend, in my opinion, is just because welfare has increased in various societies, thus, the middle class are able to think about going to university in order to engross themselves in science and other fields of study. This changed attitude definitely is positive on the whole. Welfare and income have always been decisive in determining a person's destiny and continuously have had a direct role to realize whether someone is able to continue his area of interest in university or not. This trend can be validated to take a glance at both developing and even underdeveloped nations. In the former countries, those communities that the majority of their citizens are living above the poverty line, there is a great temptation among people to partake in universities' entrance exams to be accepted in what disciplines that they are eager since they do not have any financial obsession to get them prevented from reaching to their dreams, moreover, this tendency has been on the rise for good decades in developing countries like Iran. People are getting used to taking part in academic classes despite the fact that this ideology would not have been scattered among citizens since they barely would be affordable to pay the expenditure of both their study and their lives so they must have selected either of them. Although, today, there are some families who are not capable to join academic groups, thanks to the enhanced financial status, universities' seats have been occupied rapidly. Although it is so likely that some disadvantaged families would be left behind, growing in the number of those going to university leads to enhancing the societies’ culture and developing cutting-edge technologies. Many new devices are being produced by universities’ alumni; therefore, never will human beings have access to these feats unless by getting help from educated people. Also, coping with modern technologies has converted people into informed creatures since the world has turned into a global village and fast-paced transferring contributes to that any news from the farthest point of the world reaches another part of this planet. This speed makes the individuals’ culture developed in spit of some tangible complications having been created owing to lack of enough knowledge to cope with these new-emerged gadgets. To recapitulate, earning more money than the amount that people used to catch as a prominent reason is responsible for increasing the number of applicants who want to be graduated in higher degrees. Based on the above-mentioned points, this state-of-the-art frame of mind can be considered a positive trend since it increases people ’s awareness.