Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that governmental investment should be channeled into railway renovation, instead of lane construction. I am of the opinion that the revitalization of roads should be taken precedence over that of railways for numerous reasons. From social perspective, the ubiquity of lane transportation is undeniable since domestic merchandises, goods, or products are transfered to consumers by vehicles operated above the roads. In long-term objectives, if the authorities restrain the total amount of budget invested in this sort of public infrastructure, the flow of product chains as well as domestic businesses' revenue will come to a halt. Besides, for the sake of commuters, more often than not, people are inclined to drive motorcycles and cars in order to travel from place to place. Thus, the likelihood of increasing fatal rate is a result of inadequate investment in road construction and renovation because citizens can easily get injured by inadvertently heading into pot-holes. In contrast, advocates of the statement also hold the view that the government should make capital investments in railways instead of the other as it plays a fundamental role in favor of exportation and free trade agreement. Specifically, railways can be utilized to transfer merchandises from a foreign country in which is geographically in proximity to the host nation without dissipation of energy and resources. Nevertheless, there are a plethora of alternative modes of transport such as pinelines, airways and waterways. Consequently, governments should cut down on the budget allocated to an unnecessary option and prioritize the most common way of transportation, especially roadways. In conclusion, governmental investment in railways is by no means a squandering; however, due to the world's economic predicament, the authorities should channel money into roadways for social and national sakes.