Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals believe that tourism and work overseas are the only purposes in learning a non-native language. Meanwhile, some people think foreign language mastery is beneficial for some reasons. From my point of view, I partly agree with these two claims since language is the key to good communication in social life. It is generally believed that travelling and working overseas are the two exciting factors for people to learn another language. Nowadays, students also tend to leave their country to seek better education and certainly to expose themselves in international experience. These reasons will be extra motivation in foreign language mastery since going abroad allows people to experience a special moment in their life and probably only happen once in their lifetime. As a matter of fact, many individuals learn a non-native language for some specific purposes, such as making money from teaching and become a tourist guide. In developing countries, many people have an interest in foreign language and culture, so that it offers a great opportunity to become a foreign language teacher and make some money. In addition, for tourism destiny such as Bali, the local citizens tend to master several languages since many tourists visit their hometown each year. It can be an excellent way to promote the local tradition as well as making money from guiding them. In my opinion, travelling and working/studying abroad are primary reasons for people who learn a foreign language since it will be beneficial for them to communicate with the local citizens. Meanwhile, I also believe some people have different reasons to learn a non-native language, such as become a teacher and interacting with international tourists. In conclusion, both claims are acceptable since foreign language mastery plays a vital role to interact with people from different countries and cultures.