In recent years, many local shops have closed because customers travel to big shopping malls or centers to do their shopping. is this a positive or a negative development

In this modern-day, there are many groceries stores that provide almost all people needs. Consequently, a lot of small shops went bankrupt because people tend go to the supermarket with having a big supply for daily needs. This essay will discuss the merit and demerit of this development. One of the good impacts of this situation is people just need to good to one supermarket to fulfil their daily needs. This is because supermarkets have offers from primary needs until tertiary needs moreover supermarkets give some special offers for their loyal customer which will benefit their customers a lot. For instance, In Indonesia there a supermarket call Brastagi which is the most complete supermarket that could fulfil all people needs. Furthermore, this supermarket could give a big discount for some conditions and events. This offer causes customers to tend to shop at the supermarket On the order hand, many small shops get the drawback for this situation because supermarkets have taken all customers from conventional grocery stores. For this reason, people could not get any income from their business and it may cause the supermarket to monopolize the market. Consequently, Brastagi has shut down many local stores and indirectly force societies to shop in their supermarket. As can be seen this a the demerit from the big supermarket that could give bad impact on the societies. To conclude, Despite this benefit that offered by the supermarket which helps people to fulfil their need, the drawback effect could give a bad impact on local store and the condition on the market. In my opinion, the disadvantage outweighs the advantages of this modern condition.