Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that children should be motivated for a sense of competition, while others believe that cooperation is a more important value to establish in the young. Although competition helps to achieve success, I believe competition teaches youngsters how to do teamwork, which is very helpful for their career. On the one hand, some believe that competition is significant because youth are to be pushed to win in whether pursuit they take part in. In other words, if a child wins in every field of education, he can achieve many better work opportunities in life. As a result young children become more successful as compared to those students who don't take part in the competition. For example, It has been shown in ‘ Times of India newspaper’ that Children who participate in sports are more likely to do better in their lives than those who do not. However, I believe that corporation helps the student to work in a team. On the other hand, working with others teaches pupils kindness, feeling of empathy and selflessness, which makes us more responsible toward others. This means that children who are taught cooperation will be better prepared for adult life because the ability to work as part of a team is highly recommended in the workplace and in families. For instance, Micheal Jordan was usually criticized by his coworkers due to his competitive attitude and, he had to change his behaviour for the sake of his team. Therefore, I believe that teaching children to work as a team is more important than giving them a sense of competition. In conclusion, while instilling a sense of competition help children to succeed, in my opinion, teaching cooperation gives them the ability to work as a part of a team, which is far more valuable later in life.