Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As with any issue, there are two sides that must be considered. One is the differences in people ’s opinion whether we must accept negative circumstances when they occur or try to seek solutions in such situations. Both sides of this argument are worth exploring. On the one hand, those against the belief that one should try to overcome difficulties in life have valid reasons for saying so. To begin with, there are unexpected or unfortunate situations often unavoidable, people should take a philosophical view and accept the reality. In a marriage, for example, conflicts and arguments are inevitable due to the differences in opinion, lifestyles or background between the spouses. Therefore, the husband or the wife needs to learn how to tolerate each other’s flaws and accept who she or he is, not who he wants her to be and vice versa. Otherwise, the relationship may end up unhappily with divorce. In addition, the effort of always trying to deal with negative circumstances and striving to overcome unfavorable situations can lead to severe stress and anxiety. If people learn to embrace unfortunate things as inevitable events in life, they will be able to have a happier life as well as maintain a positive mood. On the other hand, there are those who think that it is the optimal way to manage to improve such situations. I would agree that we should have a proactive attitude and try to find possible solutions in our lives. The major merit of acting proactively is that it keeps us in the state of continuous learning and improvement, which will provide us with valuable opportunities to enhance our awareness and foster self-improvement. As a result, we are more likely to succeed in our personal lives and career paths. What is more, focusing on overcoming the bad situations will allow people to convert some of their destructive emotions into more constructive ones. For instance, negative emotions like anger or fear can be diverted into our concentration and our ability to address our problems. If people merely ignore their unwanted situation such as unemployment or lack of money, their mental health, in the long term, would be adversely affected. In conclusion, while I acknowledge that accepting undesirable situations in life brings certain benefits, I still agree it would be better to focus on facilitating such situations due to the reasons mentioned above.