Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Effective methods of students ' progress evaluation have always been an area of contention around the world. A segment of society is convinced that the most effective way to assess knowledge is a formal examination. These people believe that a continual assessment does not provide precise results. I fully disagree with this point of view. Because one examination does not assess students ' knowledge thoroughly. The following paragraphs will explain my opinion along with relevant examples. To commence, students may not perform their best due to various reasons like stress and anxiety. In other words, a formal examination is a very important event, thus, students feel anxious that they may fail. Consequently, stress directly impacts performance negatively. Moreover, the state of health may also detrimentally affect students during the examination, permanently distracting them. This can also be a result of stress. For instance, many people have stomach pain when they are nervous. Although continual assessments such as course works and projects require more effort from a teacher, they can provide more precise results. Additionally, they take into account crucial aspects like, for example, discipline, punctuality, teamwork, and the like. During continual assessments, students can have several chances to perform well and improve their results. Therefore, students experience less stress. To conclude, I believe that assessing knowledge based on only one exam is not a good idea. They do not take into account circumstances when students may not perform to their best abilities. Continual assessments can more efficiently measure students ' knowledge.